About Latest News Culinology Currents, March 21, 2019

Culinology Currents, March 21, 2019

Haley Carson • Mar 21, 2019
The 2019 Awards Issue
Last week, attendees of the RCA Conference celebrated excellence in the food industry at the Thoroughbred Awards Reception and Gala in Louisville, Kentucky. The night was full of glitz, glamour and, of course, bourbon as we recognized some of the industry’s best and brightest. Congratulations to all the RCA Awards recipients, Culinology® Education Foundation scholarship recipients and competition winners!
View All Awards

Lifetime Achievement
The Lifetime Achievement Award is given to an individual who has achieved industry-wide recognition, if not mainstream recognition, for his or her lifetime achievements in Culinology®. To earn this honor, an individual must have significantly influenced the food industry and/or the consumer market through their career. We are excited to announce the recipient of the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award:
Mark Crowell, CRC®, CuliNex

Pioneer Award 
The Pioneer Award is awarded to an individual who has, through his or her own achievements, become recognized as a leader in the food industry utilizing the practice of Culinology® for at least 10 years. Congratulations to the 2019 Pioneer Award recipient:
Mario Valdovino, Tyson Foods, Inc.

Outstanding Achievement
New in 2019, the RCA Outstanding Achievement Awards recognize product developers in retail and food service – as well as educators in the area of Culinology® – who have gone above and beyond. Congratulations to the 2019 recipients:
Outstanding Achievement in Product Development for Retail:
Holly Ramage, MSFS, CCS®, PepsiCo
Outstanding Achievement in Product Development for Food Service:
Angela Wadlington, CCS®, Chick-fil-A, Inc.
Outstanding Achievement in Culinology® Education:
Rosemary Trout, MSFS, Drexel University

President's Award
Every year, the RCA president identifies members whose contributions to the association or industry have made a significant impact. On behalf of RCA President, Jason Behrends, Ph.D., CCS®, congratulations to the 2019 President’s Awards winners:
Jeff Cowles, CCS®, Sugar Creek Sous Vide
Allen Freed, AJ Freed, L.L.C.
John Marcy, Ph.D., University of Arkansas
Griffith Foods 

Culinology® Expo Product Award
This year's Culinology® Expo featured more than 145 exhibitors with 13 of them submitting their latest product for consideration in the Culinology® Expo Product Award. Attendees determined the winner by casting votes for their favorite new product. Congratulations to the 2019 Culinology® Expo Product Award winner:
Red Arrow
Product: Cherrywood Smoked Sugar

The Future of the Industry
The Culinology® Education Foundation places great value on providing financial assistance in the form of scholarships to qualified students pursuing higher learning opportunities in Culinology®, culinary arts and food sciences. Congratulations to the following students who were awarded scholarships at the 2019 RCA Conference:
Tyson Foods Scholarship: Nathan KnappNiagara College
  Michele Block Memorial Fund Scholarship: Amadeus Driando AhnanUniversity of Massachusetts Amherst
  Bill “Pops” Hahne Memorial Fund Scholarship: Koh Wei Yan, Taylor's University Lakeside Campus
  Legacy Scholarship: Mariana Garcia, Cal Poly Ponoma 

They Earned Their Stripes
Things heated up in the kitchen during the four competitions that were held at the RCA Conference! Competitions were available to both professional contestants and students, and allowed them to showcase their skills and knowledge. Congratulations to the following winners:
Professional Culinology® Competition
Sponsored by ADM; Deli Star; and International Flavors & Fragrances
Equipment provided by Southbend and Welbilt
  • WINNING TEAM: Seoul Food To-Go-Gi
    Kentucky Bibim Brown With Korean Sweet Tea Sparkler
    Chef Jessica Wainwright and Chef Jerry McDonald from MiDAS Foods International 
Student Culinology® Competition
Sponsored by Deli Star; and International Flavors & Fragrances
Equipment provided by Southbend and Welbilt
  • WINNING TEAM: Team Ali
    Iconic Chicken Burgoo
    Chiew Jun Kang, Adrian Chua Sern Yi,
    Hii Wen Suog, Lee Chor Yang, Dr. Kuan Yau Hoong (Faculty Advisor) from Taylor's University
Evolution of Food Waste Product Development Student Competition 
Sponsored by Griffth Foods; and NorthTaste Flavourings
  • WINNING TEAM: University of Minnesota
    Kaiyō Soba
    Sophie Held (Team Leader), Brigitta Yaputri, Lisa Chou, Karine Zohoun, Alice Zhang, Yuxi Bai, Tonya Schoenfuss (Faculty Advisor)
Culinology® Cocktail Competition
Sponsored by Flavor Dynamics, Inc.
  • WINNER: Janet Carver, Ingredion Inc. 
    Passion Hibiscus Orange 86 
Check out all the action from the Student Culinology® Competition on our YouTube channel
Upcoming Events and Deadlines 
Culinology Workshop: General Culinology
Thursday, April 4 - Thursday, July 18
Online Course
Northwest Arkansas Region | Cooking with Fire Workshop and Dinner
Thursday, April 11
Bentonville, Arkansas
Upcoming Webinar | Driving Formulation Innovation in the Baking Industry
Thursday, April 18
Seattle Region | PROVA Flavor House Event
Monday, April 22
Seattle, Washington
Culinary Arts Fundamentals for Food Technologists
Monday, May 20 - Friday, May 24
Bentonville, Arkansas
Register Today | The RCA Event in Napa
Thursday, October 3 - Saturday, October 5
Napa, California
Only 200 spots available! 
Save the Date | The RCA Conference
Wednesday, April 15 - Friday, April 17, 2020
San Diego, California